From Ancient Egypt to 1997, 500 Self Portraits (published in 2000) offers a chronological survey of self portraits in western art. It is almost entirely comprised of portraits and their credits, though there is a short statement at the beginning (that, I confess, I have never read). 500 Self Portraits is an interesting book to look through simply because of the variation in self representation in art that it showcases. (Some are very stark and serious while others are actually pretty funny.)

The only complaint I have about my copy is that I have a small, soft covered one that seems about as thick as it is wide, making the pages difficult to open fully (without feeling like you’re hurting the book…) It was given to me, though, so I really can’t complain.

500-self-portraits.jpg

And, in the spirit of things, here is a self portrait I did. It is from a few years ago, but it’s one of the last serious drawings of myself I have done. (Since then it’s only been sketches and doodles.)

self-portrait.jpg

 

