Every time I go to the farmers market I swoon over the flowers, but I rarely buy them. This week, though, the rununculous were so gorgeous that I couldn’t pass them up. I bought this little bunch of mixed colors from Wild Hare Farm. They are perched on the book shelf next to my desk in a repurposed glass jar. Although I haven’t drawn them yet, they were too pretty not to photograph.

img_1705

Also, now that it’s spring, the whole town is in bloom. I have never seen so many dogwood trees in my life. They are not only carefully cultivated in people’s back yards, but growing wild along the highways… it’s gorgeous

img_1515

While I love gardens and cut flowers, as well as drawing them, art featuring flowers has never appealed to me all that much… except certain traditional French/ Provencal textiles, such as this one.

