Here it is – my first recipe for this blog. The way that I cook is usually to reference a recipe or two and then strike out on my own, hence the hybrid categorization.

This recipe started as a gratin of kasha, mushrooms and potatoes from Dean & Deluca, as featured on page 151 of A Cook’s Guide to Grains (Jenni Muir). The photograph was so beautiful that it lured me in, but all I wanted were the potatoes, so I altered it quite a bit. I was so pleased with the finished gratin that it’s 9:00 am and I’m already anticipating my lunchtime leftovers.

a note: I used a cast iron skillet for this, but I would recommend a large ramekin, for better ease of clean up.

gratin diptych 4

several small to medium sized baking potatoes (such as yukon gold), washed, with the skins left on
1/4 yellow onion, sliced very thinly
1 c heavy cream
1 c grated Fontina cheese
3/4 c grated Gruyere cheese

Slice the potatoes into rounds no more than 1/4 in thick. Arrange half of them in a single overlapping layer on the bottom of a heavy, oven-proof baking dish. The cheeses and cream are rich enough that greasing it should not be necessary. Spread half  of the onions on top of the potatoes and cover them with a second layer. After another layer of onions, pour the cream evenly over everything. Cover the top with the grated cheeses and bake for 45 minutes to one  hour at 350. The finished gratin should be browned on top and the potatoes should be soft but not mushy.

Enjoy!

