I finished the baby blanket I was beginning last week and talked about in the blanket, part 1. However, it is currently in the mail, en route to my pregnant friend, so I don’t want to spoil the surprise. She might not even read this, but I’d rather be safe than sorry. In the meantime, I will show some progress shots.

warping diptychMaking a warp using soft cotton yarns (5/2 and chenille, if you’re interested)

IMG_2470Threading the warp through the heddles. This is a method that I learned during an internship at Sam Kasten Handweaver. Threading from the back mostly eliminates the need for a tool called a raddle because the heddles (and keeping a close eye on things) will evenly space the warp threads.

IMG_2494Weaving away. It’s about half finished here. Look for part 3 next thursday to see how it came out.

