When Matt and I first moved into town, there was a house near to where we live that had been partially demolished, I think by a fallen tree. As seen before, the very tall trees in my neighborhood are nothing to mess with. It was kind of jarring to drive by it and see the refrigerator standing it the kitchen, still covered in big bright alphabet magnets. A year and a half later, the house has been demolished completely (this time, by a wrecking crew, no doubt) and nature is starting to creep up through the remaining foundation. Despite my qualms with leaving trash in the woods, it’s really interesting (and sad) to see a floor full of scratched linoleum tiles become covered in leaves and begin to vanish. In a way it almost seems like a memento mori (although I’m sure the house’s former inhabitants live someplace else now.)

I really like all the soft colors.

