Over this long hiatus, I have been reading, but there hasn’t seemed to be much of a theme, as there often is. This is my recent list:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky
If you haven’t read this book, you absolutely should. Its a really entrancing coming of age story, written in the form of letters to an unknown recipient from “Charlie.” He chooses this person because they “didn’t sleep with that person at a party even though [they] could have.”

The Bookseller of Kabul, Asne Seierstad
A non-fiction book, written like fiction, telling the story of one Afghan family. Sultan Khan is a bookseller in a country where many people, including members of his own family, are illiterate. While fascinating,  it was sometimes hard to read about the very strict hierarchy of things like gender roles in what is a relatively progressive Afghan family.

Native American Myths and Legends
This tome lives in my bedroom at my parents’ house and, while I’m visiting, I will usually read a few stories before I go to bed.

Marie Claire, January 2010
I was waiting in the airport and I picked this up.  I like the color scheme of bright yellow, hot (cochineal-esque) pink and toned down slate blue on the cover.

Selvedge, Nov/Dec 2009
I don’t know why I just received this issue, but I did, so now I am reading it. It is beautiful, as always.

