I know I talked about building frames from scratch, but when it came down to it, I was pressed for time and money and decided to build my frames for Thought Cloud from black, pre-cut metal frame pieces.

I had the glass cut at Lowe’s (FYI: apparently Home Depot does not cut glass) before realizing that a local hardware shop cuts it. I’ll go there next time, since in addition to the benefits of supporting local business, it is much more conveniently located for me.

The most exciting part of presenting my work (other than seeing it all framed) was cutting beveled mats. It’s so easy I can’t believe it. I went through what seemed like about 1,000,000 blades, because if they aren’t sharp, the mats wont be as perfect, but it was very simple – literally as easy as 1, 2, 3.

1. Measure correctly  2. New blade  3. Make the cut from the back, against a metal straight edge and cut away from yourself. Done.

I will have pictures of my work in situ next week.

