Although I am in the middle of another book right now, the one I want to talk about is a graphic novel called Fun Home, by Alison Bechdel. Let me begin by saying that my library has it filed away in the biographies section, which means two things to me: A. I would never have found it on my own, if I was scanning the shelves, because I would have been looking in the wrong section and B. More validation for graphic novels as a legit art form (I think this idea is becoming more mainstream anyway).

After coming out as a lesbian, Bechdel learned that her father was a closeted gay man. This double coming-out story serves as the central thematic axis of the book, around which Bechdel illustrates her life growing up and her father’s premature death, four months after she came out. Like other widely read graphic novels, the expressive illustrations flesh out an already strong story. This page, close to the beginning is one of my favorites. (It must be someone else’s favorite, too since it came up in a Google image search.)

Anyway, I really enjoyed the book (zooming through it in a day) and would recommend it for both the story and illustrations. It’s a promising piece for a genre that many people still see as pictures of super-heros for kids.

