I talked a little bit about my inspiration and reference for this in my first post about designing this shirt.

I like working on tracing paper because, if you are working by hand instead of digitally, it makes it much easier to do a number of iterations of a design. I started in pencil and worked from the center motif outwards. The right side of the drawing is less finished than the left side.

I think that I want the design to be more symmetrical (right now  it’s pretty balanced, but it is not symmetrical) and a little bit less feminine. Vines are ok, but I’m going to pare down the excessive curlicues. I might also make an additional design that links into the main one, to make it look more appropriate on a crew necked tee shirt. But to start, I traced in pen the parts that I am definitely keeping.

Now it’s time to rework it.

