The theme during my most recent trip to the library became the classics of African American literature. I have a lot of classics on my library list and decided that this week was the one to read this subset. I’ve been a fan of Toni Morrison for a while now (when I read one of her novels, I feel like I am experiencing something profound and I need a few moments to collect myself before entering back into the physical world), but haven’t yet read Beloved, which is one of her highest praised books.  So I got that, but before I read it, I am working on Their Eyes Were Watching God, by Zora Neale Hurston.

I have to confess that it takes me a few pages to get fully into the dialogue, which is in a very thick dialect, but I like it so far. I’m not very many pages into it yet. Also, how gorgeous is this cover? (“Very,” is the answer.)

I also took out I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings, by Maya Angelou. I read it in middle school but I don’t remember much, except for a rape scene that seemed pretty graphic to me at the time. I think I was on the young side to appreciate Maya Angelou properly (mostly in terms of fully understanding things), but I applaud my middle school teachers for trying.

