The body of work that I’ll be showing at Caffe Driade in December (hooray!) is going to be called FLORA/FAUNA. It will be a series of nature studies in pencil, embroidery and (if I can squeeze it in) painting, based on small pieces of nature here in North Carolina.

I’ve been working from a little specimen collection that I’ve gathered, as well as a lot of field guides. The field guides very rarely have photographs that are good enough to do anything detailed, so they’re mostly for ideation and identification. I am also planning another trip back to the nature center at the natural history museum in Raleigh because their collection inlcudes birds.

December first is coming up fast, but my goal is to make enough work before then that I’m able to edit what I show to be only my best work. (Hopefully my tender wrists will allow it.)

 

