Yesterday Design*Sponge posted about Coralie Bickford-Smith‘s new series of book covers for Penguin (above). I read it today and remembered how much I like her work. (This is a long post because of my enthusiasm.)

Every time I go the the library I pass Tess of the D’Urbervilles and almost get it based on the book design alone. I’ve read the synopsis a number of times (hoping to have an excuse to curl up on the couch with the cover) and it hasnt appealed to me yet. I guess there’s still time for it to win me over. That red-orange and gray looks so nice.

A soft spot for books is one of my biggest obstacles to becoming a minimalist. Normally this urge is controlled by the public library, but Coralie Bickford-Smith’s designs really test my resolve. Below are books that I have judged on their covers and which I would own based on those alone.

I have liked some of them,

but I don’t know them all.

And I’ve read some that I don’t want to own.

The hardest to resist, though, are the ones I’ve been meaning to read…

