A writer friend and I have an ongoing rivalry over short-form stories. He prefers plays, while I am a champion of folk tales and short stories. I could love plays and he could love short stories, but we continue to tease each other and only read our own preferred forms.

He just finished writing a play. I’m gearing up for some art work based on/ relating to stories.

To get into it, I’m revisiting American Indian Myths and Legends (a classic for me) and A Thousand and One Nights. Additionally, I’ve perused a collection of African American folk tales and a volume of white American folk tales from the westward expansion days. The second includes lists of superstitions. Those relating to children and marriage make me feel especially modern by contrast. (Did you know that if you eat a watermelon seed, you’ll become pregnant?!)

          

