It’s well documented here that I take a lot of inspiration from books- the stories, styles and imagination contained within them as well as their outward design.

Because of my planned transition of this blog back to a space that is mainly about my own projects, I’m going to channel that energy elsewhere. (Anyone else love Goodreads?) While I hesitate to claim that this will be my last book-oriented post, the plan is for those posts to be rare and because of something truly exceptional.

Before we get there, though, way back at the beginning of August, I mentioned that I would write a post about my summer of reading.  Summer ended officially last week, but I’m counting it until this morning (when I finished the last one.)

This is my full list (excluding cookbooks), since June:

  1. Straight, Hanne Blank
  2. IN & OZ, Steve Tomasula
  3. Toast, Nigel Slater
  4. Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal, Jeannette Winterson
  5. The Sisters Brothers, Patrick DeWitt
  6. Kiki de Montparnasse, Catel & Bocquet
  7. Galore, Michael Crummey
  8. The 10th Muse: My Life in Food, Judith Jones
  9. The Consolations of Philosophy, Alain de Botton
  10. Blood, Bones and Butter, Gabrielle Hamilton
  11. The Prisoner of Heaven, Carlos Ruiz Zaffon
  12. Unlovable, Esther Pearl Watson
  13. Seating Arrangements, Maggie Shipstead
  14. Religion for Athiests, Alain de Botton
  15. What The Dog Saw, Malcolm Gladwell
  16. The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern
  17. plus, American Short Fiction (volumes 54 & 55)

This summer I read more new books than usual, in part because of getting to know some people in publishing. They keep up with what’s coming out and I found myself lagging behind in conversations.

Although I could talk about many of these books for ages, I’ll leave it here: go read Galore, IN & OZ and Kiki de Montparnasse. Kiki is a graphic novel non-fiction about the muse of the same name, IN & OZ is a satire about the conversation/ debate on the ethos of art vs. design and Galore is a rich fiction set in a small outpost in Newfoundland steeped in history and folk lore. All three will send you running back to the library/ book store/ internet for more.

