October was mostly about drawing chickens and pigs. (There are MANY more I didn’t post.) After a summer full of vegetables and wild animals, I’ve begun drawing the domesticated animals that are raised for food. I have focused on heritage breeds in part because they’re more interesting to draw, being a little quirkier to look at than the major commercial breeds. I’m also interested in them because it’s one way that I can support sustainable agriculture. Learning about some of these breeds along the way has been fascinating. (Did you know there are wooly pigs? Or that pigs were traditionally classed as “bacon,” “lard,” or “pork” breeds?)

Figure drawing, on the other hand, is something that I’m usually practicing, to varying degrees. It’s always worth improving, and it takes a lot of practice to be truly good at it.

 

